Who can enter the awards?

Any organisation (including Public Sector, Education, etc.) located within the Cherwell District administrative boundary that has local management autonomy, may enter.
Sponsors, suppliers and official supporters of the Cherwell Business Awards are not eligible to enter.

What area does Cherwell District cover?

The geographical area covered by the awards is the Cherwell Council district and includes Banbury, Bicester and Kidlington and all the villages in between. If you are unsure, please check your postcode. If you feel your postcode should or indeed shouldn’t be in Cherwell but the postcode search is throwing up an incorrect result, please email admin@cherwellbusinessawards.co.uk.

How many awards can I enter?

Any entrant may enter a maximum of two of the Business Sector Awards. In addition, as an individual, you can enter the Business Person of the Year Award.

Is there a cost to enter the awards?

It is free to enter. If you are shortlisted as an award category finalist, you will be offered two complimentary tickets to the Gala Dinner and Awards ceremony in September.

Can I apply online?

Yes, you simply have to set up a login then you can complete the application form and upload via the website. You can also attach documents to support your application. If you experience any problems with submitting your application, please email admin@cherwellbusinessawards.co.uk.

How can I support or sponsor the Awards?

We would love to hear how you would like to be involved with the Awards. Please contact our organisers at admin@cherwellbusinessawards.co.uk

How are the awards judged?

Each award category has a sponsor. It is the responsibility of the award sponsor to carry out the judging process in line with the awards’ guidelines. The sponsor will be judging applications, based on the criteria set out for each award. Entrants are advised to answer all questions within the application and may also provide supporting documentary evidence.

After the closing date for applications, all entrants will be contacted directly by a representative of the award’s sponsor. Entrants must be available to be interviewed either by phone or face-to-face.

The selection of finalists will take place at a Judging Meeting with all other sponsors in July 2023, and shortlisted finalists will be notified immediately. The winner of each award category will be announced at the Gala Dinner and Awards ceremony at Chesterton Hotel on Friday 8 September 2023.

What are the timings for the 2023 awards?

The timetable for the awards is as follows:

  1. Launch Event Wednesday 19 April 2023 – 8:30 – 11AM at Norbar
  2. Nominations can be submitted from Wednesday 19 April 2023
  3. Applications can be submitted from Wednesday 19 April 2023
  4. Closing date for nominations is Wednesday 17 May 2023
  5. Closing date for applications is Wednesday 31 May 2023
  6. During June/July 2023 all applications will be assessed and judged
  7. Sponsors judging meeting Wednesday 19 July. Finalists will be announced following this meeting.
  8. Winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner and Awards ceremony at Chesterton Hotel on Friday 8 September 2023.

Can I buy tickets to the Awards ceremony?

Tickets for the Award ceremony will go on sale from April 2023.

I was a finalist last year, can I enter the same award category again the following year?